When you make a change to your plan, it goes into effect immediately and you are billed a prorated amount based on your new plan and billing cycle.

Calculating proration amount

Prorate means we calculate the remaining balance in your current billing cycle for your initial plan and add it as a credit to use towards upcoming payments on your new plan.

The prorated amount is calculated based on the date of plan change to the billing period ends. You'll see line items in your invoice adding a credit for your initial plan and billing you the difference for the new plan.

Seeing credit balance

If you have credits in your balance, you can see them from the Billing tab on your Workspace Settings page.

☝️ If you’re on a deprecated Starter or Growing Business plan, you can see it from the Billing tab in your profile: https://app.zeplin.io/profile/billing

Common Proration Scenarios

Changing billing cycle

When you change your plan’s billing cycle:

  • Your new billing cycle starts immediately, on the date you made this change
  • We calculate the credit for unused time left in your initial plan
  • If you change your billing cycle from monthly to annual, the credit is deducted from the price of the annual plan, and you are billed for the remaining prorated amount
  • If you change your billing cycle from annual to monthly, the price of the monthly plan will be deducted from the credit

Upgrading your plan

When you upgrade your plan:

  • If you keep the billing cycle the same, your renewal date doesn’t change
  • If you change the billing cycle (for example: from monthly to annual), your new billing cycle starts immediately, on the date you made this change
  • We calculate the credit for unused time left in your initial plan
  • The credit is deducted from the price of the upgraded plan

Downgrading your plan

When you downgrade your plan:

  • If you keep the billing cycle the same, your renewal date doesn’t change
  • If you change the billing cycle (for example: from monthly to annual), your new billing cycle starts immediately, on the date you made this change
  • We calculate the credit for unused time left in your initial plan
  • The price of the new plan will be deducted from the credit

☝️ If there are any remaining credits after making a change to your subscription, they’ll be added to your balance and used for the upcoming payments.

Related articles:

Did this answer your question?