To provide more flexibility as you add and remove members, we moved to a seat-based billing model.

  1. Add multiple seats at once: If you’re going to invite a group of users to your workspace, you now have the option to purchase multiple seats at once and allocate them later. The experience for inviting users one at a time remains the same.
  2. Reuse seats: When you remove members from your workspace, you now keep the seats. This gives you the flexibility to allocate those seats to new members, with no changes to your invoice. If you want to remove the seats completely, you can always do so from the workspace billing page.

We hope these changes will make it easier for you to manage seats for your members. Let us know if you have any questions or feedback at support@zeplin.io.


How is the Organization plan priced?

The Organization plan’s pricing is per-seat based. The base fee includes 12 seats, along with unlimited projects, components, and versions. As you add more seats, the fee for each additional seat will be prorated and your credit card on file will be billed dynamically at the end of your monthly billing cycle.

You can still invite users who need to view designs (without technical specs) and add notes for free, as Reviewers. Reviewers don’t take up paid seats.

What is a “seat”?

Seats represent the number of users you subscribed for.

I subscribe to the monthly Organization plan, for 12 seats. I’m currently the only member in the organization and my role is Owner.

What is a “member”?

Members are users who are invited to your organization, including Developers, Editors, and Reviewers.


I invite 11 users to our organization. I assign one of them as an Admin and assign the rest as Developers.

In addition, I invite 2 more users as Reviewers. I’m not billed for these users since Reviewers are free of charge.

We now have 14 members in our organization.

Who needs a seat in the Organization plan?

Designers, developers (teammates who need to upload designs or access technical specs, assets, and code snippets), and admins need seats in the Organization plan.

How can I add more seats to my organization?

Click the settings button on your Workspace Members page and head to the Billing tab. There, you can add seats to your organization.

When you add seats to your organization, you can allocate them right away. You’ll be billed at the end of the month for the prorated amount if you’re on the annual billing cycle. If you’re on the monthly billing cycle, you’ll see the prorated amount in your next invoice.


I need 3 more seats to invite our designers. I add 3 seats from the billing page, I can see the exact amount I’ll be billed for these additional seats.

We now have 17 members in our organization: 15 paid seats and 2 Reviewers.

Inviting members from the Workspace Members page

You can still add members from your Workspace Members page. As you’re inviting, if you don’t have any seats available and you select Admin, Editor, or Developer as the role, a seat will be added to your organization automatically.

How can I remove seats from my organization?

Click the settings button on your Workspace Members page and head to the Billing tab. There, you can add remove seats from your organization.

☝️ The base fee includes 12 seats. You'll see the “Remove seats” button if you have more seats more than the base.

You can remove seats after you remove users from your member list. When you remove seats, it’ll take effect on your next renewal date. You’ll see a pending change that lists the number of seats you’ll have and the amount you’ll pay at the renewal date.

If you want to change the number of seats you want to remove, you can do so from the Billing tab. Your pending change will be updated immediately.

We have 15 paid seats in the organization, but use 13 of them. To continue with 13 seats, I removed 2 seats from the billing page. I’ll pay for 13 seats on the next renewal.

Managing pending seat changes

You can cancel a pending seat change anytime you want and go back to using the seat number you had previously.

☝️ If you decide to invite a new Admin, Editor, or Developer, your pending seat change will be canceled automatically.

What happens when I remove members from the Workspace Members page?

Removing members doesn’t remove their seats. For example, when you remove an Admin, Editor, or Developer from your organization, you’ll be able to allocate their seat to a new member (of any of those roles).

For which roles do I need to pay for?

Admin, Editor, and Developer roles take up a paid seat, Reviewer role is free of charge. You can learn more about roles here:

How does this affect me if I'm paying by invoice?

You can contact your account manager or reach out to support@zeplin.io if you want to add seats or remove seats.

How does this affect me if I’m currently on a trial?

You can contact your account manager or reach out to support@zeplin.io if you want to add seats or remove seats.

Did this answer your question?