You can assign different roles to the members in your workspace to define what resources they can access. To do this, navigate to the Workspace Members page by clicking on the profile image on the right top of the app and selecting your workspace:

From the Workspace Members page, you can make members:

  • Admins who can manage your members, billing settings

  • Editors who can create content, export designs, and edit them

  • Developers who can access technical specs and assets of designs

  • and Reviewers who can make comments on the designs

We recommend assigning the “All project access” to a director, lead, or member with an Admin role in the workspace, so that they can help assign roles, update access levels, and add new members.

Besides assigning roles, you can also manage the access levels of your members in your workspace. Learn more here.

Roles

Workspace members can have four different roles: Admin, Editor, Developer, and Reviewer.

👑 Admin

The owner of the workspace is also considered an Admin.

  • Manage workspace setting*

  • Add seats to your workspace

  • Remove seats from your workspace

  • Invite and remove workspace members

  • Tag workspace members

  • Edit workspace billing information

  • Edit workspace name and logo

  • Delete workspace

… and all of the below.

🎩 Editor (This role called Editor/Developer on the Team plan)

  • Create, edit, delete projects and styleguide

  • Upload and delete designs

  • Change name and density of projects and styleguides

  • Add projects and styleguides to Slack

  • Create, edit, delete, and tag screens

  • Create, edit, and delete colors

  • Create, edit, and delete text styles

  • Delete all notes

… and all of the below.

👓 Developer (Available on the Organization and Enterprise plans)

  • Access all workspace projects

  • Access technical specs

  • Download assets, code snippets

  • Add notes

  • Edit and remove own notes

  • Invite members to the workspace*

🧐 Reviewer (Free of charge)

  • Access all workspace projects

  • Add notes

  • Edit and remove own notes

  • Invite members to the projects as a restricted Reviewer

Reviewers are not able to access technical specs, download assets, code snippets, or upload designs. We recommend assigning this role to project managers, clients, and other stakeholders that only need to view and provide feedback.

☝️ Owner or Admins of your workspace can manage who can add a member with a paid role or change a member's role from free to paid. Learn more about Workspace settings here.

☝️ While assigning roles, if you don’t have any seats available and you select Admin, Editor, Editor/Developer, Developer as the role, Zeplin will give anyone with an Admin or Owner role a 7-day grace period to confirm these additional seats added. Members who are not reviewed within 7 days will be confirmed automatically and new seats will be added to the subscription.

New members

You can assign roles while inviting new members to your workspace from the Workspace Members page.

Existing members

To change a role of an existing member, click on their role dropdown.

To assign a specific role to multiple members at once, you can select them by dragging and clicking over a group of users and use the “Assign role” button.

Another way to select multiple members is to press and hold the Command key for Mac, Crtl for Windows, then click on the users.

You can also use the search bar to help filter members by domains, emails, names, and usernames.

Related articles:

Did this answer your question?