All Collections
Pricing & Plans
FAQ about the Organization plan subscription
FAQ about the Organization plan subscription

Learn more about the Organization plan pricing

Didem avatar
Written by Didem
Updated this week

How is the Organization plan priced?

The Organization plan’s pricing is per-seat based. The base fee includes 12 seats, along with unlimited projects, components, and versions. As you add more seats, the fee for each additional seat will be prorated, and your credit card on file will be billed dynamically at the end of your monthly billing cycle.

You can still invite users who need to access designs (without technical specs) and add comments for free, as Reviewers. Reviewers don’t take up paid seats.

What is a “seat”?

Seats represent the number of users you subscribed for.

I subscribe to the monthly Organization plan, for 12 seats. I’m currently the only member in the organization and my role is Owner.

What is a “member”?

Members are users who are invited to your organization, including Admins, Editors, Developers, and Reviewers.

I invite 11 users to our organization. I assign one of them as an Admin and assign the rest as Developers.

In addition, I invite 2 more users as Reviewers. I’m not billed for these users since Reviewers are free of charge.

We now have 14 members in our organization.

Who needs a seat in the Organization plan?

A seat is required to publish designs, access technical specs, and download assets. Viewing a project and reading/adding comments or annotations does not require a seat. Admins, designers, and developers need seats in the Organization plan.

For which roles do I need to pay?

The Owner, Admin, Editor, and Developer roles take up a paid seat, Reviewer role is free of charge. You can learn more about roles and how to assign them here.

How does this affect me if I'm paying by invoice?

You can contact your account manager or reach out to support@zeplin.io if you want to add seats or remove seats.

How does this affect me if I’m currently on a trial?

You can contact your account manager or reach out to support@zeplin.io if you want to add or remove seats.

How can I switch between workspaces?

On Zeplin, all users start with a Personal Workspace. When you upgrade to the Organization plan, you get an additional workspace. You can access your new team workspace by using the dropdown menu at the top left:

💁‍♀️ If you’re on a version before Zeplin's Summer Breeze release, this dropdown menu is located in the middle at the top of your screen.

How can I add more seats to my subscription?

Inviting members from the workspace Billing page

Click the settings button on your Workspace Members page and head to the Billing tab. There, you can add seats to your workspace.

When you add seats, you can allocate them right away. You’ll be billed at the end of the month for the prorated amount if you’re on the annual billing cycle. If you’re on the monthly billing cycle, you’ll see the prorated amount in your next invoice.

I need 3 more seats to invite our designers. I add 3 seats from the billing page, I can see the exact amount I’ll be billed for these additional seats.

We now have 17 members in our organization: 15 paid seats and 2 Reviewers.

Inviting members from the Workspace Members page

You can also add members from your Workspace Members page. When you invite a user with a role that requires a seat (Admin, Editor, or Developer), if your workspace doesn’t have any seats available, Zeplin will apply a 7-day grace period before incurring a charge for the seat. Within the grace period, you can either confirm or revert the changes, or remove the members from the workspace completely. Learn more about the grace period here.

You can learn more about adding members here.

How can I remove seats from my subscription?

To remove seats, you first need to free them. You can remove members from your workspace member list or change their roles to Reviewer which is free of charge.

☝️ The Organization plan comes with a minimum of 12 seats. You'll see the “Remove seats” button if you have more than 12 seats in your workspace.

Then, click the settings button on your Workspace Members page and head to the Billing tab. There, you’ll see how many seats in use. You can remove as many seats as there are unused seats from your subscription, by using the “Remove seats” button.

When you remove seats, it’ll take effect on your next renewal date. You’ll see a pending change that lists the number of seats you’ll have and the amount you’ll pay at the renewal date.

If you want to change the number of seats you want to remove, you can update it from the same button. Your pending change will be updated immediately.

We have 15 paid seats in the organization, but use 13 of them. To continue with 13 seats, I removed 2 seats from the billing page. I’ll pay for 13 seats on the next renewal.

Managing pending seat changes

You can cancel a pending seat change anytime you want and go back to using the seat number you had previously.

☝️ If you decide to add a new Admin, Editor, or Developer, your pending seat change will be canceled automatically.

What happens when I remove members from the Workspace Members page?

Removing members from the Workspace Members page doesn’t remove their seats. For example, when you remove an Admin, Editor, or Developer from your workspace, you can allocate their seat to another member.

You can learn more about removing workspace members here.


Related articles

Did this answer your question?